Books & Book Marks

Going on holidays is nice…except I can’t craft! 😉 So after a long break, I started reading again. That was also quite necessary as I am now running an English book club at the local International Women’s Academy here in Ulm! The IWA is like a community centre I guess, with courses in everything you can think of and they have a section just for women! Why’s that? Probably because there is a culture here that mothers with young children shouldn’t work, so once the kids are in school, they have plenty of time to do other things if they want to.

The International section of this “Women’s Club” started last year. Its objective is to help women combat the isolation they feel coming to a country where they don’t speak the language nor know anyone apart from the husbands they came with. They hold courses and get togethers in English and other languages apart from German. So many professional women who are now unable to work because they gave up their career to follow their husbands here, found a place where they could meet other women and make friends.

So I’m running a book club in this section and I’m so happy I’m finally doing it as I’ve always wanted to ever since I left Singapore…29 years ago! So far I have introduced an oldie but favourite book of mine called “The Joy Luck Club” by Amy Tan to share some of my culture with the Germans, Italians, Americans…in the club. And as a little gift, I made a book mark for each of my “book clubbers”.

book club 1

This bookmark was made using Stamplorations stamps and stencils and Distress Inks. The flower die cut was a free gift from Tattered Lace that came with Prima Makes magazine which I picked up when I was in the UK. (I actually bought the same magazine twice just to get the 2 different dies…😊 ) It was cut from a failed emboss resist card project so it actually sparkles!

I’m going to play at:

Craft Rocket Challenges – Inspired by the book “Flowers in the Attic” by V.C Andrews

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge  – Anything Goes

Stamplorations Mixed Media challenge – Stamplorations mixedmediachallenge.png

bookmark 2

This one was made by first stamping the flowers and leaves from Create A Smile in a very light colour and then colouring it with my Prismacolor pencils.

And this one is entering:

Happy Little Stampers Mixd media challenge – Sprays  HLS Mixed Media challenge.png

bookmark 3

HLS Anything Goes with Dies –  HLS AG with Dies Badge

Things with Wings –  thingswithwingsspringhop.png

Muse Challenge #21 – I was inspired by the flowers and die cuts muse

bookmark 4

I also decorated the backs of the book marks with Stamplorations stencils and sentiment.

Aud Sentiments challenge – Use a stamp for your sentiment

Stamplorations Never ending Anything Goes Challenge – STAMPlorations-anythinggoes

 

Thanks for stopping by and its a long weekend with labour Day next Monday so we’re off  on another road trip to visit Pisa and Modena in Italy this time. I’ll do a post about my recent road trips soon!

In the meantime leave me loads of comments to accompany me on the road!

0aablog-signature

25 thoughts on “Books & Book Marks

  1. Love the shimmer and texture of these! I feel the same way about holiday and being away from crafting. Always itching to get back to my ‘stuff’! lol! Thanks for joining us at Muse this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Best Geschenk for lady who loves reading is Book mark and you did it the best on each
    I always want to visit your blog sweety and leaving you some love (hope you like to do same too ..always so happy to get visit from Nachbarn in Ulm hehehe) but sometimes because I am in 5 DTs I must commenting the participant and sometimes the time is gone
    now it is 23 Uhr
    yeah I am able to visit you I am happy..
    all your book mark is beautiful and special design..du bist sehr fleissig …antworten viele ladies here…aber ich habe ein Mal gelesen am besten visiting back the lady…some of them not come back and read the answer :(( I read if you leave cause I get notification sweety.. but some blogs hehehe I leave comment and never visit again cause its Participant blog..
    just an idea..
    Luv your post..
    hug
    Monika

    Like

    1. Danke Monika. I will do as you suggested and reply to them on their blog if they leave a link.

      Like

  3. I bet they loved these, Gwendolyn! Sounds like a great club, too! Thanks for sharing these with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I thought of you yesterday and your post on Osteria Francescana as we were in Modena but as we planned this trip last minute we obviously couldn’t get a table 😭

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments are like little virtual hugs to me, so thanks for the love!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.